Love Trumps Hate: The 1975’s “Loving Someone” is the Song the World Needs Now

Fair warning to those who have grown accustomed to my usual quippy posts — I haven’t been in the most quippy mood as of late.

To say tensions have been high since Tuesday’s election results is an understatement. My stomach sank as I watched the U.S. map slowly turn red state by state. I couldn’t even bring myself to wait for the announcement that Donald Trump was our country’s new president-elect.

I thought about escaping the election by submersing myself in music, but even that served as reminder of the tragic reality the world was now facing.

Back in October, I went to see my favorite band in concert – the ultimate escape. But the looming election still made itself present even there.

The 1975 are a British band who have never shied away from speaking on social and political topics. After the occurrence of Brexit back in June, the band’s lead singer Matthew Healy had a lot to say about the upcoming election, pleading to their fans to vote, exclaiming, “This is the world calling!”

The band then followed with their song titled “Loving Someone” speaking to the unification of humanity and serving as a reminder that #LoveTrumpsHate.

LYRICS:

My heart is telling me the telly isn’t telling me anything I need, but it needs to keep selling me
Besides celebrities lacking in integrity holding up the status quo
Instead of showing the kids that they matter
Who are they going to batter next?
Just keep hold of their necks and keep selling them sex
“It’s better if we keep them perplexed”
“It’s better if we make them want the opposite sex”

Disenfranchised young criminal minds in the car park beside where your Nan resides
Are not slow
They’ve just never been shown
That you should be LOVING SOMEONE

We’re all human, we’re just like you man
We’re sentient or something or other, I can’t remember, whatever
We shouldn’t have people afloat
If it was safer on the ground, we wouldn’t be on a boat

Charlatan telepathy exploiting insecurity
And praying on the purity of grief and its simplicity
But I  know that maybe I’m too skeptical
Even Guy Debord needed spectacles

You see, I’m the Greek economy of cashing intellectual cheques
And I’m trying to progress
But instead of selling sex
I think I should be LOVING SOMEONE

I am forever alongside the boys in jumpers on bikes from schools
And cars with autumn leaves fallen sparse across mid-afternoon
She blazed about how cultural language is an operating system,
A simple interface rendered feeble and listless when tested with divinity
Or a true understanding of the human condition
I never did understand, the duality of art and reality, living life and treating it as such
But with a certain disconnect to touch that cajoles at the artist with comfort and abandon
And between the spires and rolling roofs of the white city
That orange English light cast only one, singular shadow
For you are not beside but within me

One Reply to “Love Trumps Hate: The 1975’s “Loving Someone” is the Song the World Needs Now”

Leave a Reply

